When we started discussing visits for Mini’s out-of-town Grandparents (the H’s), I had a very strict rule.

No visits during the school week.

This offended them (I don’t care!) and they questioned why. Mini takes FOR-EV-ER to get on a schedule. Last year, I couldn’t get her on a decent schedule until the third week of school and that was when she was only going 2.5 hours a day. This year, school is from 9:20 to 3:30. I probably won’t have her on a set schedule until October, the earliest. I’m hoping.

The only acceptable weekends it seemed were Rosh Hashanah, which is a 4-day weekend or Columbus Day, a 3-day. Well, that set off an argument about us ‘preventing’ them from seeing their grandchild because they weren’t available those two weekends. Since they were unavailable those weekends, we were hit with “You can’t make us go 5 months without seeing her. That’s inhumane.”  It was a whole big, albeit unnecessary, hullabaloo.

Wait. Back up the truck. “Inhumane”? 

Here’s how I see it. My daughter has parents. Those parents will decide what’s best for her. If you don’t like it, tough rocks! If you visit someone, you can’t expect them to rearrange their entire life for your time there. Finally, her Grandma H says she will fly in this weekend and leave Tuesday. Done deal! These people give me migraines and I can’t deal with their craziness anymore.

Alas, her Grandma is here. Let the games begin 😉

